PRINCESS GRACE FOUNDATION-USA - 2019 PRINCESS GRACE AWARD Winners Announced

Award Winners In Theater, Dance & Film

PARIS - NEW YORK, 19.08.2019, 07:21 Time

USPA NEWS - The Princess Grace Foundation-USA (PGF-USA) is proud to have one of its most illustrious Award winners, Leslie Odom Jr., announce the winners of the 2019 Princess Grace Awards. The Awards will be presented at the annual Princess Grace Awards Gala and continue the legacy of Princess Grace (Kelly) of Monaco, who helped emerging artists pursue their artistic goals during Her lifetime. Since 1982, the Foundation has awarded nearly 800 artists with grants totaling over \$1 million annually in theater, dance and film. In the presence of His Serene Highness Prince Albert II of Monaco, this year's Gala will be held at the Plaza Hotel in New York City on November 25, 2019.

The Princess Grace Foundation-USA (PGF-USA) is proud to have one of its most illustrious Award winners, Leslie Odom Jr., announce the winners of the 2019 Princess Grace Awards. The Awards will be presented at the annual Princess Grace Awards Gala and continue the legacy of Princess Grace (Kelly) of Monaco, who helped emerging artists pursue their artistic goals during Her lifetime. Since 1982, the Foundation has awarded nearly 800 artists with grants totaling over \$1 million annually in theater, dance and film. In the presence of His Serene Highness Prince Albert II of Monaco, this year's Gala will be held at the Plaza Hotel in New York City on November 25, 2019.

For the eleventh year in a row, celebrated artist Alex Soldier, known for his mastery of precious miniatures, has created an objet d'art to represent the Princess Grace Awards. The Award, realized as a wearable pin, symbolically combines the three art forms lauded by the Foundation: theater, dance and film by using precious metals and Swarovski crystal accents.

Winners of the Awards for theater, dance and film who distinguish themselves in their artistic disciplines since receiving their Princess Grace Awards are eligible for the Foundation's Princess Grace Statue Award. This year, Chinonye Chukwu, Sundance's 2019 Grand Jury Prize winner, director of Clemency, starring Alfre Woodard, will receive the Princess Grace Statue Award. In addition to a \$25,000 unrestricted cash gift, Chinonye will be presented with a bronze statue of Princess Grace created by the Dutch artist Kees Verkade. To date, sixty-seven artists have received this Award.

- This year's Princess Grace Award winners are:
- * For Theater and Playwriting:

Julian Robertson/The Juilliard School (Grace Le Vine Theater Honor), Alicia Austin/ Yale School of Drama (Pierre Cardin Theater Honor), Salmah Beydoun/ California Institute of the Arts (Fabergé Theater Honor), Tinashe Kajese-Bolden/Alliance Theatre Company (Gant Gaither Theater Honor), Desdemona Chiang/The 5th Avenue Theatre (Robert and Gloria Hausman Theater Honor), Erika Dickerson/New Dramatists; Honoraria: Kizzmett Pringle/Pace University, Jimmica Collins/Center for Puppetry Arts.

* For Dance Performance and Choreography:

Jared Brown/The Juilliard School, Stanley Glover/BalletX, Roman Mejia/New York City Ballet (John and Jenny Paulson Dance Honor), Byron Tittle/Dorrance Dance (John and Barbara Lehman Dance Honor), Mia Chong/ ODC/Dance (Chris Hellman Dance Honor), Rena Butler/Hubbard Street Dance Chicago, Randy Reyes/ CounterPulse; Choreography Honoraria: Tommie-Waheed Evans/Dance Lula Washington Dance Theatre.

* For Film:

Alicia Rodriguez/George Mason University (John H. Johnson Film Honor), Ray Chang/California Institute of the Arts (Stephen Hillenburg Animation Scholarship), Isabelle Carbonell/University of California, Santa Cruz, Molly Gillis/ New York University (Cary Grant Film Honor) Daniela Repas/ Pacific Northwest College of Art, Adewale Olukayode/ Columbia University (Louis D. Srybnik Film

Honor); Honoraria: Melanie Rosete/Purchase College, Ashley Siana/Montana State University, Ajani Amiri Thomas/Howard University.

- Special Project, Works in Progress Residencies at the Baryshnikov Arts Center and the Choreography Mentorship Co-Commission (CMCC) Awards are grants available to past Princess Grace Awards and Honoraria recipients for uniquely significant projects that advance their artistic development. This year's winners are:
- * Special Project Awards:

Kyle Abraham, Javier Barboza, Esy Casey, Miwa Matreyek, Benjamin Russell and Amie Siegel.

* Works in Progress Residencies:

Modesto Jimenez and Raja Kelly.

* Choreography Mentorship Co-Commission (CMCC) Award:

Camille A. Brown.

Source: The Princess Grace Foundation-USA

Ruby BIRD http://www.portfolio.uspa24.com/ Yasmina BEDDOU http://www.yasmina-beddou.uspa24.com/

Article online:

https://www.uspa24.com/bericht-15818/princess-grace-foundation-usa-2019-princess-grace-award-winners-announced.html

Editorial office and responsibility:

V.i.S.d.P. & Sect. 6 MDStV (German Interstate Media Services Agreement): Ruby BIRD & Yasmina BEDDOU (Journalists/Directors)

Exemption from liability:

The publisher shall assume no liability for the accuracy or completeness of the published report and is merely providing space for the submission of and access to third-party content. Liability for the content of a report lies solely with the author of such report. Ruby BIRD & Yasmina BEDDOU (Journalists/Directors)

Editorial program service of General News Agency:

United Press Association, Inc. 3651 Lindell Road, Suite D168 Las Vegas, NV 89103, USA (702) 943.0321 Local (702) 943.0233 Facsimile info@unitedpressassociation.org info@gna24.com www.gna24.com